Penn Museum logo

Welcome & Leadership

Julian Siggers standing outside the Penn Museum

Welcome to the new Penn Museum, where we’ve just unveiled more than 10,000 square feet of reimagined space that make this a Museum open and welcoming to all.

The new Sphinx Gallery, Mexico and Central America Gallery, and Africa Gallery opened alongside the renovated Harrison Auditorium and a range of new visitor amenities—including new elevators, accessible restrooms, and air-conditioning—in a true transformation. And our Building Transformation project will continue to reimagine our historic building for our next generation of visitors.

The Museum is, at its heart, about people—about their stories, their achievements, their ingenuity, their challenges, their triumphs. This is one of the world’s great collections that tells our shared human story, now presented in new and compelling ways. I invite you to come and see these fascinating objects for yourself, to explore their stories, and to connect with peoples of other times and places.

A place of continual discovery since it was founded in 1887, the Museum illuminates our understanding of the past and present with active excavation and research sites across the world, as well as in labs right here in the building. And we share our discoveries so that you can make your own: please explore not only our galleries but also the Digital Penn Museum, where you can delve into our collections, watch films and lectures, and dig deeper into the human story.

Welcome to the new Penn Museum—we’re glad you’re here.

Julian Siggers signature

Julian Siggers, Ph.D.
Williams Director

Executive Team

  • Julian Siggers, Ph.D. Williams Director
  • Amanda Mitchell-Boyask, Executive Director of Advancement
  • Ellen M. Owens, Merle-Smith Director of Learning and Public Engagement
  • Kate Quinn, Director of Exhibitions and Special Programs
  • Melissa P. Smith, CFA Chief Operating Officer
  • Stephen J. Tinney, Ph.D. Deputy Director, Chief Curator, Head of Collections and Research

Board of Overseers

The Penn Museum gratefully acknowledges the leadership and support of the following members of its Board of Overseers, as of July 2019:

  • Michael J. Kowalski, W74, PAR, Chairman
  • Robert M. Baylis
  • David Brownlee, Ph.D. (ex-officio)
  • David T. Clancy, W70
  • William L. Conrad, PAR
  • Erica Weissman Desai, C96
  • Edward Fernberger, Jr., W71
  • Peter C. Ferry, C79, PAR
  • Steven J. Fluharty, Ph.D., C79, GR81, PAR (ex-officio)
  • Irfan M. Furniturewala, WG01, PAR
  • George M. Gephart, WG79, PAR
  • Peter G. Gould, Ph.D., LPS10
  • Ghislain Gouraige, Jr., C80, PAR
  • Ingrid A. Graham
  • Amy Gutmann, Ph.D. (ex-officio)
  • Stacey Rosner Lane, Esquire, C80, GR13, PAR
  • Diane v.S. Levy
  • Bruce Mainwaring, C47, PAR (emeritus)
  • Frederick J. Manning, W69, PAR
  • Andrew R. Moelis, C10
  • Geraldine Paier, Ph.D., HUP66, NU68, GNU85, GR94
  • Wendell Pritchett, Ph.D. (ex-officio)
  • Barbara W. Riley
  • Adam Rosen
  • Herbert L. Sachs, W69, PAR
  • Eric J. Schoenberg, Ph.D., GEN93, WG93, PAR
  • David A. Schwartz, M.D.
  • Julian Siggers, Ph.D. (ex-officio)
  • Adam D. Sokoloff, W84, PAR
  • Matthew J. Storm, C94, WG00
  • Gregory Annenberg Weingarten
  • Jill Topkis Weiss, C89, WG93, PAR
  • Charles K. Williams II, Ph.D., GR78, HON97 (emeritus)

Other Volunteer Groups

The Penn Museum gratefully acknowledges the contributions of time, talent, and financial support of the members of the following volunteer groups, as of July 2019:

Director's Council

  • Peter G. Gould, Ph.D., LPS10, Chair
  • Arthur J. Burke, Esquire, C89, W89
  • Lawrence S. Coben, Ph.D., G03, GR12
  • Carrie Cox, PAR
  • Isabella de la Houssaye
  • Douglas T. Dietrich, WG00
  • Luis Fernandez-Moreno, WMP89
  • Judy Brick Freedman, Ph.D.
  • Catherine Giventer, C95
  • Bryan R. Harris, C83
  • John C. Hover II, C65, WG67
  • Andrea R. Kramer, Esquire, L76, PAR
  • Sharon N. Lorenzo
  • Marco L. Lukesch, C01, W01
  • Joseph E. Lundy, Esquire, W65
  • Gregory S. Maslow, M.D., C68 M72 GM77, PAR
  • John J. Medveckis, PAR
  • Carlos L. Nottebohm, W64, PAR
  • Patrick M. Oates, Ph.D.
  • Adolf A. Paier, W60
  • George R. Pitts, Ph.D., GR77
  • William L. Potter, WG88, PAR
  • J. Barton Riley, W70, PAR
  • Brian P. Tierney, C79, PAR
  • Samuel Phineas Upham, Ph.D., WG05, GRW06
  • Nina Robinson Vitow, CW70, WG76
  • Diane Dalto Woosnam
  • Nanou Zayan, C73, PAR

Advisory Board

  • David B. Brownlee, Ph.D., Chair Shapiro-Weitzenhoffer Professor of the History of Art, University of Pennsylvania
  • Francesca Ammon, Ph.D. Associate Professor of City and Regional Planning, University of Pennsylvania
  • Christopher D.M. Atkins, Ph.D. Agnes and Jack Mulroney Associate Curator of European Painting and Sculpture before 1900; Manager of Curatorial Digital Programs and Initiatives, Philadelphia Museum of Art
  • William Burke White, Ph.D. Richard Perry Professor and Director, Perry World House, University of Pennsylvania
  • Scott Cooper, Ph.D. President and CEO, Academy of Natural Sciences at Drexel University
  • Dejay Duckett Director of Curatorial Services, African American Museum in Philadelphia
  • Sara Jane (Sally) Elk President and CEO, Eastern State Penitentiary
  • Oliver St. Clair Franklin O.B.E. Investment analyst (former President of International House)
  • Derek Gillman Distinguished Visiting Professor, Visual Studies, Drexel University
  • Susan Glassman Director, Wagner Free Institute
  • Andrea Goulet, Ph.D. Professor of Romance Languages, University of Pennsylvania
  • Kelly Lee Chief Cultural Officer, City of Philadelphia
  • Will Noel, Ph.D. Director, Kislak Center for Special Collections, Rare Books and Manuscripts, and the Schoenberg Institute for Manuscript Studies, University of Pennsylvania
  • Karen Redrobe, Ph.D. Jaffe Professor of the History of Art, University of Pennsylvania
  • Ralph M. Rosen, Ph.D. Rose Family Endowed Term Professor of Classical Studies, and Associate Dean for Graduate Studies, University of Pennsylvania
  • Monique Scott, Ph.D. Director of Museum Studies, Bryn Mawr College

Annual Report 2017-2018

In 2017, the Penn Museum launched our Building Transformation project—our grandest excavation yet, revealing a new Penn Museum. We invite you to explore the 2017-2018 Annual Report—in its new digital format—and learn more not only about this transformation but also about our research, teaching, and programmatic initiatives that further the thrill of discovery every day.